## Appendix

## Chronology of British Rule in India

1600	Royal Charter for English East India Company
1612	First English factory at Surat in western India
1613	Mughal emperor jahangir grants trading rights to the
	English company
1616	Sir Thomas Roe visits the Mughal imperial court.
1618	Roe secures more farmans (imperial orders) granting lib-
	eral trading rights to the English company.
1639	Foundation of Fort St. George at Madras
1651	English factory at Hughli in eastern India.
1698	The English obtain zamindari (landowning) rights in
	Kolikata, Sutanuti and Gobindapur in eastern India.
1717	MughaJ emperor Farruksiyar grants duty free trading
	rights to the English company.
1744-48	First Anglo-French War
1750-54	Second Anglo-French War
1756-63	Seven Years' War in Europe
	Third Anglo-French War in India-elimination of French
	competition.
1756	Nawab of Bengal captures Calcutta from the English
1757	Battle of Plassey-a new Nawab of Bengal under the
	protection of the English
	Beginning of the political influence of the English East
	India Company
1765	Grant of diwani (revenue collecting rights) for Bengal,
	Bihar and Orissa (eastern India) to the English company.
1767-69	First Anglo-Mysore War
1772	Warren Hastings appointed as the governor
1773	The Regulating Act
1774	Warren Hastings becomes Governor General of India
4555	Supreme Court established in Calcutta
1775-82	First Anglo-Maratha War

## 476 Appendix

1780-84	Second Anglo-Mysore War
1783	Fox's India bills
1784	Pitt's India Act
1785	Resignation of Warren Hastings
1786	Lord Cornwallis becomes the new governor general
1790-92	Third Anglo-Mysore War
1793	The Permanent Settlement of land revenue in Bengal
1798	Lord Wellesley becomes governor general
1799	Fourth Anglo-Mysore War
1803-5	Second Anglo-Maratha War
1817-19	Third Anglo-Mararha War
1828	Lord William Bentinck appointed governor general
1829	Prohibition of sari (self-immolation by widows)
1833	Renewal of the Company's Charter
	Abolition of the Company's monopoly trading rights
1835	Lord Macaulay's Minute on Indian Education
1839-42	
1845-46	First Anglo-Sikh War
1848	Lord Dalhousie appointed governor general
1848-49	Second Anglo-Sikh War
1853	Railways opened from Bombay to Thana
1856	Annexation of Awadh
1857-58	Mutiny and the Revolt
1858	Establishment of Crown rule in British India
1859	Indigo rebellion
1861	Indian Councils Act
1876-77	Delhi Durbar-Queen Victoria proclaimed the Empress of India
1070	
1878	Second Anglo-Afghan War  Vernacular Press Act to control 'seditious' vernacular
1883	The Ilbert bill controversy
1885	Foundation of the Indian National Congress
1891	Age of Consent Act
1892	Indian Council's Act
1893	Hindu-Muslim riots over cow-killing
1899	Lord Curzon becomes viceroy
1905	Partition of Bengal
± J U U	Swadeshi movement
1906	Foundation of the All India Muslim League
1909	Morley-Minto Reforms
± 0 0 0	WIOTICY WITHOU TOTALIS

1911	Partition of Bengal annulled
1912	Imperial capital moves from Calcutta to Delhi
1914	World War One begins
1915	Gandhi returns to India
1916	Lucknow Pact between Indian National Congress and
	the Muslim League
	The Home Rule Leagues formed
1919	Montagu-Chelmsford Reforms
	Anti-Rowlatt Act movement under Gandhi's leadership
	Punjab (jallianwallabagh) massacre
1920	Gandhi takes over leadership of the Indian National
	Congress
1921	Khilafat and Non-cooperation movements under Gan-
	dhian leadership
1922	Non-cooperation movement withdrawn after Chauri-
	chaura violence
1923	Swaraj Party candidates enter the legislative councils
1928	Visit of the Simon (Indian Statutory) Commission
	All Parties conference
	Morilal Nehru report on the future constitution of India
1929	Lahore Congress and the resolution to fight for <i>puma</i>
1020	swaraj (full independence)
1930	Civil Disobedience movement under Gandhi's leader-
	ship
	First Round Table Conference at London to discuss a
1021	future constitution for India
1931	Gandhi-Irwin Pact Withdrwal of Civil Disobedience Movement
	Second Round Table Conference participated by Gandhi ends in a failure
1932	Banning of the Congress
1732	Second phase of the Civil Disobedience Movement
	The Communal Award and the Poona Pact
	Third Round Table Conference ends in a failure
1934	Civil Disobedience Movement called off.
1935	Government of India Act
1937	Inauguration of provincial autonomy
	Elections under the new act
	Congress ministries in eight provinces
1939	World War Two begins
1940	Lord Linlithgow's August offer of dominion status
	Muslim League adopts Lahore resolution

4 /8	Appendix
1942	Cripps Mission ends in a failure
	Quit India Movement
1944	Gandhi-Jinnah talks
1945	Victory of Labour Party in England
	Trial of the Indian National Army prisoners-widespread
	protests
1946	Mutiny in Royal Indian Navy
	Cabinet Mission to India
	Interim government under Jawaharlal Nehru
	Hindu-Muslim riots
1947	Clement Attlee's declaration to hand over power by June
	1948
	Mountbatten Plan to hand over power to two national
	governments of India and Pakistan
	India Independence Act
	Transfer of power to Pakistan and India
	Communal violence and mass migration
1948	Assassination of Gandhi (30 January)
1949	A new constitution of India adopted and signed
1950	New constitution comes into force

India becomes a republic