POLITICAL SCIENCE

CLASS-11



BOARD OF SECONDARY EDUCATION, RAJASTHAN AJMER

Text Book Development Committee

POLITICAL SCIENCE Class - XI

Convener : Dr. Manroop Singh Meena

Principal Government Girls' College, Dholpur

Writers :

Dr. Madhumukul Chaturvedi

Head of Deptt., Political Science, Shahid Captain Ripudaman Singh Govt. College Sawai Madhopur

Bhav Shekhar

Asstt. Professor Govt. Mira Girls' College, Udaipur

Sunil Chaturvedi

Principal Master Adityendra Govt. Sr. Sec. School, Bharatpur

Dr. Manoj Baharwal

Associate Professor Smarat Prthviraj Chouhan Govt. College, Ajmer

Pravin Kaushik

Principal Govt. Senior Secondary School, Kharwalia, Distt. Nagaur

Gopal Lal Agrawal

Principal Govt. Senior Secondary School Dausa

SYLLABUS

POLITICAL SCIENCE Class-XI

Time- 3.15 hours

Subject code- 11

Max.Marks-100

PART-(A) Fundamental Bases of Political Science

Unit	Unit-I		
1. 2.	Political Science- Introduction,. Definition, Nature and Scope Traditional and modern perspective of Political Science (Behaviourism and Post-Behaviourism)	3 4	
3.	Relationship between Political Science and other Social Sciences	3	
Unit	Unit- II		
1. 2. 3.	Concept of State, need, elements, Sovereignty, definition and features Bhartiya, Moderate and Marxist view of the state Scope of the State- Laissez faire, Public welfare and Gandhian	3 4 3	
Unit	Unit-III		
1. 2.	Theories of the origin of state (The Divine, Force, Matriarchal and Patriarchal) Theory of Social Contract and Theory of evolution	4 6	
Unit	-IV	10	
1. 2.	Meaning and forms of Government- Authoritarianism, Aristocracy and Democracy Forms of Government (A) Unitary and Federal (B) Parliamentary and Presidential	4 6	
Unit	Unit-V		
1.	Organs of the Government (A) Legislature (B) Executive (C) Judiciary	6	
2.	Theories of Separation of Powers and check and balance	4	

Part-(B) The National movements and the Constitutional development in India

Unit- VI		
 Causes of the emergence of the National movement Moderates of the National Movement (Gopal Krishna Gokhale), Extremist (Balgangadhar Tilak)and Revolutionary(Sardar Bhagat Singh, Chandrashekhar Azad, Subhash Chandra Bose), Their Philosophy, Policies, programs and goals 	4 6	
Unit- VII	10	
 Non- Cooperation Movement, Civil Disobedience movement And Quit India Movement Freedom Struggle of 1857 and its Impact on Rajasthan & Revolutionary Prajamandal And farmers Movement in Rajasthan 	5 5	
Unit- VIII		
 Background of the Constitutional Development In India (Acts of 1909 and 1919) Constitutional development In India- The Government of India Act 1935 	5 5	
Unit- IX	10	
 Causes of downfall of the British Rule in India The Indian Independence Act.1947 Formation, purpose and functioning of the Constituent Assembly 	3 3 4	
Unit-X		
 Chief Exponents of the National Movement and their contribution in political thought in India (Swami Dayanand Saraswati, Swami Vivekanada, Maharshi Arvinda Ghosh, V.D.Savarkar, Sardar Patel, Dr. B.R. Ambedkar, Mahatma Gandhi, Pt. Jawahar Lal Nehru and Pt. Deendayl Uppadhaya) 	10	



Sr. No.	Chapter	Page No.
	PART-(A) Fundamental Bases of Political Science	
Unit-l	[
1.	Political Science- Introduction, Definition, Nature and Scope	1-13
2.	Behaviouralism and Post-Behaviouralism	14-29
3.	Relationship between Political Science and other Social Sciences	30-41
Unit-	II	
4.	Concept of State and Sovereignty	42-54
5.	Nature of State	55-63
6.	Scope of Functions of the State	66-78
Unit-l	ш	
7.	Theories of the origin of state (The Divine, Force, Matriarchal and Patriarchal)	79-83
8.	Theory of Social Contract and Theory of evolution	84-95
Unit-l	IV	
9.	Meaning and forms of Government: Authoritarianism, Aristocracy and Democracy	96-109
10.	Forms of Government	110-131
	(A) Unitary and Federal	
	(B) Parliamentary and Presidential	
Unit-	V	
11.	Organs of the Government	132-149
12.	Theories of Separation of Powers and check and balance	150-153
Part-(B) The National movements in India and the Constitutional development	
Unit-	VI	
13.	Causes of the emergence of the National movement	154-161
14.	Moderates of the National Movement (Gopal Krishna Gokhale), Extremist (Balgangadhar Tilak) and Revolutionary (Bhagat Singh, Chandrashekhar Azad, Subhash Chandra Bose), Streams of Philosophy, Policies, programs and goals	162-179

Unit- VII

15.	Non- Cooperation Movement, Civil Disobedience movement and Quit India Movement	180-191
16.	Freedom Struggle of 1857 and its Impact on Rajasthan & Revolutionary Prajamandal And farmers Movement	192-204
Unit- V	VIII	
17.	Background of the Constitutional Development In India (Acts of 1909 and 1919)	205-218
18.	Constitutional development In India- The Government of India Act 1935	219-227
Unit- l	IX	
19.	Causes of downfall of the British Rule in India	228-233
20.	The Indian Independence Act.1947	234-237
21.	Formation purpose and functioning of the constituent Assembly	238-243
Unit-X	K	
22.	Chief Exponents of the National Movement And their contribution In political thought in India	244-266