## For XAT, CMAT, SNAP, MAT, IIFT Exam

## 27. Indian National Congress Sessions

Formed in 1885, the Indian National Congress dominated the Indian movement for independence from Great Britain.

## **Important Congress Sessions**

Year	Location	Facts
1885	Bombay	1st Session of INC
		President: W.C. Bonnerjee  Lord Dufferin was the viceroy of British India.
1887	Madras	BadruddinTyabji (First Muslim President of India).
1888	Allahabad	George Yule was the president (First English President)
1907	Surat	Congress Splits into Moderates and Extremists. Rash BehariGhosh was the President of the session.
1911	Kolkata	Jana ganamana was sung for the first time in this session. Bishan Narayan Dhar was the President.
1916	Lucknow	Joint session with Muslim league. Lucknow pact was signed.
		AmbicaCharanMazumdar was the president.
1917	Kolkata	Annie Beasant was the president (First women President).
1918	Bombay and Delhi	Two sessions were held in this year.
1924	Belgaum	Mahatma Gandhi was the President.
1925	Kanpur	Sarojini naidufirst indian women to become president of congress.
1929	Lahore	Resolution for PoornaSwaraj or complete Independence. It was presided by Jawaharlal Nehru.
1937	Faizpur	First rural conference of INC. presided by Jawaharlal Nehru. Focused on peasant's welfare. Inducted M.N. Roy into congress.
1946	Meerut	Last session before Independence and presided over by J.B. Kripalani.
1948	Jaipur	First session after Independence. Presided by PattabhiSittaramayya.

\* \* \* \* \*